The most common thing people get wrong about dog licences in Hong Kong is the tag itself.
Hong Kong law does not require a dog to wear or carry its licence. The Rabies Regulation requires a dog to be microchipped, vaccinated and licensed — and AFCD officers verify all three by scanning the microchip, not by looking at the collar. A lot of online guides have this backwards.
What actually costs you money is one of three things: no licence, an expired licence, or moving home without telling AFCD. Here is each one.
Fee and validity
| Item | Detail |
|---|---|
| Licence fee | HK$80 per dog, in cash |
| Validity | 3 years |
| Included | Microchip implant, rabies vaccination, issue of the licence |
| Cats | No licence required |
HK$80 is a single payment that already covers the microchip and the vaccination — there is nothing further to pay at an AFCD centre. After three years the dog has to be revaccinated against rabies and the licence renewed. The microchip is implanted once in the dog’s lifetime.
Fees and arrangements are as published by the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department.
No licence, or an expired one: what it costs
| Situation | Maximum fine |
|---|---|
| Dog without a valid licence | HK$10,000 |
| Change of address not reported | HK$5,000 (level 2) |
| Change of keeper not reported | HK$5,000 (level 2) |
AFCD has said it will not warn you first
From the department’s own announcement of 1 June 2026, when it began regular licence checks in public places where dogs gather:
AFCD, in its own words
If a dog is found without a valid licence, the AFCD will institute prosecution against the keeper without prior warning.
來源:AFCD press release, 1 June 2026
So there is no grace period and no warning letter. From the day a licence expires, the dog is an unlicensed dog.
Moving home? You have 5 days
This is the requirement most keepers have never heard of.
Rabies Regulation (Cap. 421A), section 20A
… that person shall notify the Director in writing of that change or that cessation, as the case may be, as soon as reasonably practicable and in any case not later than 5 days after that change or that cessation.
來源:Hong Kong e-Legislation, Cap. 421A section 20A
The two parts that catch people out
- 5 days — counted from the day you move in, not the day you sign the lease
- In writing — a phone call does not discharge it; AFCD’s online form does
- Ceasing to be the keeper counts too — rehoming the dog, or handing it on, triggers the same notification
A move already carries a long list, and this item sits on none of the usual ones — not with the electricity, not with the gas, not with the broadband — which is exactly why it gets dropped. Our Hong Kong moving checklist sets out what has to be transferred and when.
Cats need no licence in Hong Kong, and there is no address notification requirement for them.
How renewal actually works
You cannot finish it entirely online
The application can be submitted online, but the dog still has to be brought in. AFCD’s instruction is explicit:
AFCD, on online applications
Please bring your dog to the Animal Management Centre as selected for rabies vaccination and licensing within 14 days after submission, otherwise your application will be cancelled.
來源:pets.gov.hk, Dog Licence
The reason is physical: the rabies vaccination has to be given and the microchip read. In other words, one trip with the dog is unavoidable.
What to bring
- The old licence, or its licence number
- The dog itself — for the microchip check and the vaccination
- HK$80 in cash, per dog
- Your HKID card
Why so many keepers put it off
Because it means getting the dog into a vehicle and out to an Animal Management Centre. For a large breed, or a household without a car, that single step is the whole obstacle.
And so it waits — until the licence has expired.
Getting the dog to the Animal Management Centre
Booking a van through GoGoVan, the pet surcharge is HK$10 per trip.
It is charged per trip, not per animal: one dog, two dogs or five dogs is the same HK$10. Van service starts from HK$55, so HK$65 and up, calculated by distance.
Once the licence is sorted, the rest of the city opens up: see our guides to dog-friendly places across Hong Kong, Kowloon and the New Territories and to pet-friendly restaurants and the rules that apply to them.
Dog licence FAQ
How much is a dog licence in Hong Kong?
HK$80, valid for 3 years, which already includes the microchip implant, the rabies vaccination and the issue of the licence. The fee is payable in cash, per dog. Cats do not need a licence in Hong Kong.
Does my dog have to wear its licence in public?
No. Hong Kong law does not require a dog to wear or carry its licence — AFCD officers verify compliance by scanning the microchip implanted in the dog. The dog must still hold a valid licence.
What is the fine for an expired dog licence?
Up to HK$10,000 for a dog without a valid licence. AFCD stated on 1 June 2026 that where a dog is found unlicensed it will “institute prosecution against the keeper without prior warning” — there is no grace period.
Do I have to tell AFCD when I move home?
Yes — in writing, within 5 days. Section 20A of the Rabies Regulation (Cap. 421A) requires written notice to the Director not later than 5 days after a change of address, and the same applies if you cease to be the dog’s keeper. A contravention carries a level 2 fine, HK$5,000.
Can I renew a dog licence entirely online?
No. The application can be submitted online, but the dog must be brought to the selected Animal Management Centre within 14 days or the application is cancelled, because the rabies vaccination has to be given and the microchip checked.
How old does my puppy have to be before it needs a licence?
At least 3 months old to apply, and the first licence must be obtained by the age of 5 months.
How do I get my dog to the Animal Management Centre?
Book a van through GoGoVan; the pet surcharge is HK$10 per trip regardless of how many animals travel. Van service starts from HK$55, so HK$65 and up by distance. Bring a suitable carrier or crate.
Verified September 2026. Fees, penalties and application arrangements are as most recently published by the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department.
Was this article helpful?